This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Learn more x

Feike Sijbesma

Member of the Board since July 2000, and Chairman since May 2007

Feike Sijbesma (Dutch, 1959) studied medical (molecular) biology at the University of Utrecht (the Netherlands) and business administration at Erasmus University in Rotterdam (the Netherlands).
Feike Sijbesma

In 1987 Feike joined the Industrial Pharmaceuticals division of Gist-brocades, where he was responsible for strategic planning and business development. From 1990 to 1993, he was appointed the division’s Marketing and Sales Director. Thereafter (1993) he was given leadership of Savoury Ingredients, later on a business unit of Gist-brocades’ Food Specialties Division. In 1995, he was made director of that division and joined the Gist-brocades’ Executive Committee. Following the acquisition by DSM in 1998 he became Director of the business group DSM Food Specialties.

In 2000, Feike joined DSM’s Managing Board of Directors. He became CEO & Chairman of the Managing Board on 1 May 2007.

Within DSM Feike oversees the Managing Board and the Executive Committee and chairs their meetings. Within the Managing Board he is the primary point of contact with DSM’s Supervisory Board. He is also responsible for innovation within DSM via the Innovation Centre and its Emerging Business Areas. Other responsibilities include taking care of the following departments and functional areas: Corporate Affairs, Corporate Sustainability, Corporate Strategy & Acquisitions, Group People & Organization, Group Communication & Branding, Group Legal Affairs, and DSM Marketing and Sales.

Supervisory directorships and other positions held:

  • Member Supervisory Board De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB), the Dutch Central Bank
  • Member Supervisory Board (Non-Executive Director) Unilever N.V. and PLC
  • Member Global CEO Council (GCC) Chinese People’s Association for Friendship with Foreign Countries (CPAFFC)

Assorted former supervisory directorships and other positions held:

  • Board member CEFIC (European Chemical Industry Council)
  • Chairman and Board member Netherlands Food Chain Sustainability Foundation (DUVO)
  • Board member Swiss Society of Chemical Industries (SGCI)
  • Board member Dutch Nutrition/Food Top-Institute (WCFS)
  • Member Advisory Board ECP-EPN (e-commerce)
  • Chairman & board member EuropaBio and BIO (European and US Biotechnology Association)
  • Member Dutch Innovation Platform 2.0
  • Member Supervisory Board Utrecht University
  • Member Supervisory Board Dutch Genomics Initiative
  • Member Advisory Board RSM - Erasmus University
  • Member Supervisory Board Netherlands Cancer Institute (AVL)
  • Member Supervisory Board DSM Netherlands
  • Chairman World Economic Forum Chemical Governors
  • (Vice) Chairman Global Agenda Council Role of Business in Society World Economic Forum (WEF)

Assorted personal awards:

  • Honorary doctorate Maastricht University, Netherlands (stakeholder value creation)
  • Humanitarian of the Year Award & Leaders of Change Award - United Nations
  • George Washington Carver Award for Biotechnology - BIO
  • Most distinghuished alumni award - RSM - Erasmus University
  • Sustainable Ribbon Award – The Netherlands