This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Learn more x

DSM joins Dr. Arun Sanyal on vitamin E and fatty liver webinar

Kaiseraugst, CH, 03 Feb 2015 13:00 CET

DSM’s Dr. Manfred Eggersdorfer and Jacob Bauly will join Dr. Arun Sanyal in a webinar to discuss the role of vitamin E in limiting the negative health implications of fatty liver. The complimentary online event will take place on 25 February 2015 at both 9:00CET/16:00SGT and 17:00 CET/11:00 EST and is the latest of a series of webinars exploring new research on the role of nutrition in combating global health concerns.

Fatty liver – and the focus is on fatty liver caused by lifestyle, not by alcohol - is a growing issue worldwide. A non-alcoholic fatty liver is frequently associated with obesity, insulin resistance and diabetes type 2. Today, there are approximately 1.5 billion overweight or obese people worldwide, and more than 300 million have diabetes type 2. Non-alcoholic fatty liver is also observed in 16% to 20% of normal weight individuals, and often has no symptoms.1

Dr. Arun Sanyal, M.D. is a Charles Caravati Professor of Medicine and former chair (2000-2013) of the Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, Department of Internal Medicine, School of Medicine Virginia Commonwealth University. He said: “The results of several human studies have demonstrated that vitamin E was found to be effective in improving non-alcoholic steatohepatitis, was safe in the applied dose and did not lead to side effects such as weight gain in the clinical trial.”

He added: “Currently, there is no approved drug for the treatment of non-alcoholic steatohepatitis. It has been shown that vitamin E directed at a defined daily dose improves the liver condition in non-diabetic adults with non-alcoholic steatohepatitis.

Register here to watch this webinar.

1 WHO Global Health Observatory