This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Learn more x


Providing perspectives on recent research into vitamins and nutritionals


Announcing 2013 Grand Prize for Young Minority Investigator

By Michael McBurney

Congratulations to Christine Hutchison, Iowa State University, for being selected as the 2013 recipient of the ASN Grand Prize for Young Minority Investigators, sponsored by DSM Nutritional Products LLC. Her presentation was entitled “Effect of soluble fiber dextrin on postprandial appetite and subsequent food intake in healthy adults”. She follows the 2012 winner, Wanida Lewis from North Carolina State University, and 2011 winner, Maria Carlota Dao from Tufts University.

The competition was chaired by Dr Rafael Perez-Escamilla, Yale School of Public Health. This year, 18 young scholars were selected for American Society for Nutrition (ASN) Minority Access to Research Careers (MARC) Travel Awards. After a review by a scientific jury, Christine Hutchison and the finalists were chosen to give oral presentations at the ASN Young Minority Investigator Oral Competition on Saturday:

  • Whitney Ajie, University of Illinois-Urbana-Champagne
  • Tixieanna Dissmore, Kansas State University
  • Erica Ebanks, University of California-Davis
  • Marie Fialkowski, University of Hawaii-Manoa
  • Christopher Ford, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
  • Christine Hutchinson, Iowa State University
  • Breanne Wright, Purdue University

On Tuesday, April 23, the ASN Minority Affairs Committee and DSM Nutritional Products LLC will host the 2013 MARC Travel Awardees Poster Competition and Networking Breakfast (7:00-8:30am) in room 150 of the Convention Center for the following winners:

Christine Akoh (Cornell University), Michelle Cardel (University of Colorado-Denver), Ailton Coleman (University of Connecticut), Jennifer Jones (Iowa State University), Monique LeMieux (Texas Tech University), Shakira Nelson (The Pennsylvania State University), Sarah Owusu (The Pennsylvania State University), Gisselle Pignotti (Arizona State University), Nancy Rivera (University of California-Davis), Elkhansa Sidahmed (University of Michigan), and Fred Tabung (University of South Carolina).

Please come to meet and congratulate these scholars.

Thanks to the four judges: Julie Kennel (ASN Community and Public Health Research Interest Section), Denis Madeiros (ASN Minority Affairs Committee), Domingo Pinero (ASN Minority Affairs Committee) , Michael McBurney (DSM Nutritional Products), and Patrick Stover (ASN Board of Directors).-mm-