This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Learn more x

DSM Biomedical expands scientific advisory board

Geleen, NL, 16 Jul 2009 17:15 CEST

World leader in biomedical materials adds three renowned experts to board.

DSM Biomedical, a global leader in biomedical materials, today announced the addition of three experts to its Scientific Advisory Board. Established in July 2007, the Board supports DSM Biomedical’s research and development strategy by advising on its scientific and technological quality, validity of hypotheses, and clinical relevance.

The newest members of the Biomedical Scientific Advisory Board include Samuel Stupp, James Kirkpatrick and Wouter Dhert, all leaders in the field of biomedical materials science. They join existing members Professor Tony Mikos, Dr. Ivo Buschmann, and Mr. Patrick Cahalan.

Dr. Samuel Stupp is a Board of Trustees Professor of Materials Science, Chemistry, and Medicine at Northwestern University (Chicago, USA), where he also serves as the Director for the Institute for BioNanotechnology in Medicine. He received this year an honorary doctorate from Eindhoven University for his pioneering work in complex molecular systems and their biomedical applications, and is the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including the Materials Research Society Medal Award and the American Chemical Society Award in Polymer Chemistry.

Dr. James Kirkpatrick is an expert in pathology and in vitro methods for biomaterial research and has authored nearly 350 articles in peer-reviewed journals on the topic. He has taught at universities across the globe and is currently Professor of Pathology and Chairman of the Institute of Pathology at Johannes Gutenberg University (Mainz, Germany). Dr. Kirkpatrick also serves as an external reviewer for several research councils and programs throughout Europe, as well as scientific journals, and was President of the European Society for Biomaterials from 2002-2007.

Dr. Wouter Dhert joins Drs. Stupp and Kirkpatrick, and brings almost 20 years of experience in translational orthopaedic research on biomaterials and tissue regeneration to DSM’s Biomedical Scientific Advisory Board. He is Professor of Translational Musculoskeletal Research, Director of Orthopaedic Research at the University Medical Center Utrecht, and part-time professor in Tissue Repair at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at Utrecht University (the Netherlands).

With so many opportunities and interest in the biomaterials industry, it is vital to focus our resources in the areas that ultimately deliver the most benefits for as many patients as possible,” said Steve Hartig, President of DSM Biomedical. “We are honored to have such well-respected thought leaders join our Advisory Board, whose expert advice will help guide our efforts to advance medical technology through biomedical innovations.”