This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Learn more x

DSM and University of Georgia to present benefits of lutein and zeaxanthin in enhancing visual performance in upcoming webinar

Kaiseraugst, CH, 11 Mar 2015 10:15 CET

DSM will hold a webinar on 17th March 2015 at both 9:00CET/16:00SGT/17:00JST and 10:00PDT/13:00EDT/18:00CET to present new research on how lutein and zeaxanthin supplementation can improve the ability to see under glare conditions. The results of the GLARE2 study have been published in Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science1 and indicate that the regular intake of lutein and zeaxanthin can be beneficial for improving vision in young, healthy people. The randomized, double-blind and placebo-controlled study was conducted by DSM, Kemin and the University of Georgia and took place in Athens over the course of 12 months, assessing approximately 100 subjects.  

“The global market for eye health ingredients is projected to increase at a compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of 6 per cent until 2019 ,” said Jens Birrer, Global Marketing Manager at DSM. “Eye health supplements containing lutein and zeaxanthin have typically been aimed at older consumers, with age-related eye conditions identified as a major health concern. The GLARE2 study has been conducted in a younger, healthier population, opening up new markets to the industry as people look to enhance their visual performance through the consumption of nutritional ingredients from an early age.”

Lead author, Professor Billy R. Hammond Jr. and DSM’s Jens Birrer and Wolfgang Schalch will present the latest findings on the GLARE2 study in DSM’s webinar and explain what the new science means to the market. Viewers can click here to register for the early webinar and here for the later showing and get a free infographic.

1 Hammond, B. R., L. M. Fletcher, F. Roos, J. Wittwer and W. Schalch (2014). "A double-blind, placebo-controlled study on the effects of lutein and zeaxanthin on photostress recovery, glare disability and chromatic contrast." Investigational Ophthalmology and Visual Science 55(12): 8583-8589.