This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Learn more x

DSM joins Dr. Bruce Ames in webinar on the emerging benefits of vitamin D

Kaiseraugst, CH, 27 Aug 2015 11:30 CEST

DSM is to host a webinar to present the latest science on vitamin D, showing emerging benefits for various life stages and health. The free online event, taking place on 23rd September 2015 at both 10:00 CEST/16:00 SGT/17:00 JST and 9:00 PDT/12:00 EDT /18:00 CEST will be joined by Dr. Bruce Ames, Senior Research Scientist and Director of Nutrition & Metabolism Center at Children’s Hospital, Oakland Research Institute, Oakland, CA. Dr. Ames, the most cited scientist in his field, will attend as a speaker to discuss his groundbreaking triage theory, which demonstrates that degenerative diseases of aging may result from mechanisms developed by the body to protect itself against episodic micronutrient shortages1.

There is relatively high awareness about the benefits of vitamin D for bone health, but many consumers still lack knowledge about additional health benefits that this nutrient offers, and the long-term health impacts of suboptimal vitamin D status. Intake remains low among the world population, with 88% of individuals suffering from suboptimal vitamin D status due to poor nutrition and sun exposure2. Adequate intake contributes to healthy bones and ensures the regulation of bone mineral density, such as calcium. Vitamin D prevents rickets in children, as well as lowering the risk of fracture and osteoporosis in adults and the elderly3. There is emerging science also suggesting that vitamin D plays a role in strengthening the immune system and reducing the risk of cardiovascular disease and multiple sclerosis.

Dr. Ames’ latest study concluded that vitamin D and omega-3 intake may help prevent conditions such as autism. Although essential omega-3 fatty acids and vitamin D have been shown to improve cognitive function and behavior, the underlying mechanism had been unclear. Dr. Ames suggests that serotonin is the possible missing link, explaining why vitamin D and omega-3 fatty acids might ameliorate the symptoms associated with a broad array of brain disorders.

DSM’s Dr. Manfred Eggersdorfer, Senior Vice President Nutrition Science & Advocacy and Professor of Healthy Ageing at University Medical Center Groningen and Jacob Bauly, Global Marketing Manager will join Dr. Ames to present the webinar on vitamin D and emerging benefits beyond bone health.

Register here to watch the webinar.

1 http://www.anh-europe.org/news/professor-bruce-ames-%E2%80%98triage-theory%E2%80%99-makes-sense-and-gains-support
2 http://www.iofbonehealth.org/facts-and-statistics/vitamin-d-studies-map
3 http://www.efsa.europa.eu/en/efsajournal/pub/2382