Pharma Solutions

Emerging roles of lipids in the modulation of cancer risk and therapy

DSM Nutritional Products
Emerging roles of lipids in the modulation of cancer risk and therapy

4 October 2017, 8:00 am MDT / 9:00 am CDT / 4:00 pm CET

Join us for our first webinar on omega-3 and oncology, presented by Dr. Catherine Field and Dr. Robert Chapkin, two of the world’s leading experts in the molecular mechanisms by which lipids modulate cancer risk and therapy. Together with DSM’s Dr. Keri Marshall, they will discuss the evidence for the use of omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs) as a part of neoadjuvant therapy for two of the most common cancers: breast and colon.

In 2017, there will be an estimated 1,688,780 new cancer cases diagnosed and 600,920 cancer deaths in the US alone. By 2030, the global burden is expected to grow from 14.1 million new cancer cases and 8.2 million cancer deaths worldwide in 2012, to 21.7 million new cancer cases and 13 million cancer deaths, simply due to population growth and longer lifer spans. The future burden may be even larger due to the adoption of certain habits common in Western lifestyles, such as smoking, poor diet, and physical inactivity.

Omega-3 PUFAs such as eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), have been shown to play a role in both prevention and treatment of multiple forms of cancer. The webinar will explore the current state of the science for EPA and DHA as a bioactive, including novel research in human cell lines, that show evidence in preclinical models using patient derived xenographs. It will also provide an overview on the potential mechanisms as to how DHA may improve neoadjuvant chemotherapy, while protecting healthy cells.

Register here