This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Learn more x

DSM to present new research on vitamin E and Alzheimer’s disease

Kaiseraugst, CH, 21 Apr 2015 10:15 CEST

DSM will hold a webinar on 21st May 2015 at both 10:00 CEST/16:00 SGT/17:00 JST and 09:00 PDT/12:00 EDT/18:00 CEST to highlight new research on how vitamin E can help curb the onset of Alzheimer’s disease. In our aging society, Alzheimer’s type dementia is a major concern. The disease can have a devastating impact on quality of life, with patients relying on caregivers for standard daily living activities. Whether it is memory impairment, deterioration, confusion or anger suffered by patients, this highly disruptive neurological disease demands attention.
Click for full infographic

Vitamin E is vital for neural function and its deficiency can lead to neurological dysfunction, causing problems with co-ordination, balance and speech,” comments Dr. Manfred Eggersdorfer, Professor for Healthy Aging at University Medical Center Groningen and Senior Vice President, Nutrition, Science & Advocacy, DSM. “It also has an antioxidant function in the brain – as a free radical scavenger and constituent of neural membranes, preventing the oxidation of lipids and PUFAs.”

Now, recent studies have found that maintaining a high level of vitamin E results in marked improvements for mental health and can be linked individually with a decrease in the onset of Alzheimer’s type dementia,” Eggersdorfer adds.

Leading scientist, Professor Maurice Dysken will join DSM’s Dr. Manfred Eggersdorfer and Jacob Bauly to present the latest findings on vitamin E in combating the progression of Alzheimer’s disease. Professor Dysken is a Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Minnesota Medical School. Viewers can click here to register for the early webinar and here for the later showing and get a free infographic.

Logo