This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Learn more x

DSM presents new research on health benefits and proven safety of vitamin E

Kaiseraugst, CH, 27 May 2015 10:15 CEST

DSM’s Dr. Manfred Eggersdorfer, Senior Vice President Nutrition Science & Advocacy and Professor of Healthy Ageing at University Medical Center Groningen and Jacob Bauly, Global Marketing Manager will join Prof. Jeffrey Blumberg, Ph.D, Senior Scientist and Director, Tufts University in a webinar to present the latest findings on vitamin E and implications on recommended intakes across different life stages and conditions. The complimentary online event will take place on 23rd June 2015 at both 10:00 CEST / 16:00 SGT / 17:00 JST and 09:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 18:00 CEST and is the latest of a series of webinars exploring new research on the role of nutrition in addressing global health concerns.

Vitamin E is a powerful antioxidant, an essential nutrient needed to maintain cellular structures and functions, thus helping support health. However, intake still remains low among consumers globally. There is an ongoing discussion about the optimal vitamin E status in healthy populations and its role in maintaining liver and brain function outside of nutritional recommendations.

New and ongoing research suggests that vitamin E at higher doses may help maintain tissue function in specific risk groups, such as age-related macular degeneration, Alzheimer’s disease and non-alcoholic fatty liver. Applications like these require the advice and supervision of healthcare professionals. It is important to revisit both the required doses and safety for targeted vitamin E intakes for these conditions. Further research will be required to support qualified health claims for mitigating the outcomes of these diseases.

Register here to watch this webinar.

Vitamins in Motion

Vitamins play an essential role for health, wellness and disease prevention throughout the lifecycle. They are key to solving our global nutritional challenges. DSM, a global leader in health and nutrition science, is leading an initiative – Vitamins in Motion - to highlight the important role of vitamins. The campaign advocates for increased access, through innovative solutions, to the essential vitamins all people need to be healthy and well-nourished. To learn more, visit www.vitaminsinmotion.com.

Logo